When We Collided By Emery Lord

wheen.jpg

“Maybe we were dying planets, Jonah, being drawn into the darkness. When we collided, we bounced each other back into orbit.”

This is a 2.5 stars rating from me. I feel really bad about this, but I just had a hard time getting through this book. I persevered and didn’t give up, but there was just too many times when I wanted to put this book down and never pick it up again. I thought for sure I was going to DNF this book, but I hate it when I leave books unfinished, so I kept going, even though my determination deprived me of reading another book for over a month!

Now I hope I don’t sound too harsh because I didn’t completely despise the book. There were reasons that kept me going. I was interested in certain aspects of it, like Vivi’s unique personality and the fact that the book included mental illness, a topic that is very important, but from my experience, hasn’t been very present in the YA books that I’ve read.

What I didn’t enjoy though was the romance, which sucks because the romance is the number one thing I look for when I choose a book to read.

I didn’t feel the connection between Jonah and Vivi. I didn’t believe they romantically loved each other or that they were actually a couple. There was no chemistry and it just felt really forced. It might also be because their relationship was very instalove…

These two characters collided during very difficult times in both of their lives. Their relationship was about meeting and unexpectedly helping put a positive impact in each other’s lives. This still could have happened if there was no romance, if their relationship just developed as a friendship. It would have still worked out!

I want to talk about why Vivi’s personality intrigued me so much. She is so different from most of the protagonists that we read about these days. She’s outgoing, has a unique and crazy sense of style and voice, and has a strange way of thinking and describing things:

“Don’t even ask me how my wild brain works, which points connect to the other parts, but the interconnectedness makes me think of bureaucracy.’

“I know you’re not just daydreaming about riding a pink pony to your job as a cupcake taster.”

“I’m a fountain of truth, splashing past each concrete tier until I hit the bottom and spout right back to the top.”

Anytime I read her chapters I was completely stunned.

I appreciated Jonah too. The brother that took care of his little siblings, with his passion for cooking, and having to grow up too fast.

These hardships that the characters went through was what had my interest. I wanted to know if/how they would overcome and accept the darkness in their lives.

Some of Vivi’s chapters were really random, and I guess it just has to do with her character and personality, but at some points I was like… what?
I mean one chapter she’s looking for her dad, then the next she’s on a crazy artistic mission, then she’s looking around town for clues about numbers that spoke to her…
It was fun and weird in a way… like what is Vivi going to do next?
It always remained a mystery…

I felt for the characters though. What they were going through had me tearing up at times, especially during Jonah’s chapters. Right off the bat we know what is going on in Jonah’s life, but it takes awhile to see past Vivi’s strange but welcoming presence and understand what is going on beneath the surface. We don’t even know what type of mental illness Vivi has until almost halfway through the book!

This obviously wasn’t my favourite contemporary book, but I still appreciated the story and I feel like I have a piece of it marked in my soul. (Vivi was here).

I just wish it didn’t take me a long time to get through it.

***

My bookstagram: https://www.instagram.com/stephiebooks/

Leave a Reply

