A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

“I would have torn the world apart to get you back.”

So many scenes, so many lines that had my heart racing with a stupid smile plastered on my face. I mean if I were being honest here, this whole book was exactly what I’ve been anticipating for for a long time. It exceeded my expectations and I’m completely in love. This is definitely a solid 5 stars for me. I wish I could rate it higher!

*Just a warning that there will be spoilers in this review*

Okay, okay, okay, I don’t even know where to begin…

I seriously think I’m still blushing.

This book was so steamy and beautiful. I can’t even begin to explain how fantastic the romance, world building, and character developments were. We got to see so much more of Prythian; The Night Court of course, and some of the Summer and Spring Court. And in the Night Court we got to visit so many places! Such as The Court of Nightmares, The hidden City of Velaris, and The Illyrian Mountains and war-camp. Not only did we get to see so much of it, but we also learned a great deal of information about the different places and the characters histories there. I would love to live in The Night Court if I was ever given the chance, perhaps even join Rhysand’s fabulous court (squad).

So to begin…
I went into this book completely ready to despise Tamlin, which ended up actually happening. (Urg) It makes me mad because I actually liked him a lot in the first book. But with the way he was treating Feyre… I think we can all agree here that though what he did was because he had intentions of making sure Feyre was safe, he dealt with it in a completely wrong way. With what they both just went through Under the Mountain, the fact that he didn’t so much as get up in the middle of the night whenever Feyre was startled from a nightmare and had to deal with it by constantly throwing up, confused me… She was in need of comfort, but he didn’t even bother trying to talk to her about it whenever either of them had a moment where they were being haunted by the horrific past events. All he did was lock Feyre up and that ultimately lead to her unhappiness. It just became an unhealthy relationship. Feyre was lonely and unhappy, not only because of what happened Under the Mountain, but because of the type of role she was forced to play as Tamlin’s future wife and court member. Seriously, if Rhysand hadn’t gotten her out of there in time, I would have found a way to do it myself.

The Night Court: Feyre made a deal with Rhysand in ACOTAR that if she visits him one week every month for the rest of her life, he would heal her so she can continue her tasks in freeing Tamlin from Amarantha’s clutches. It seemed, though, that the High Lord of the Night Court didn’t bother showing up to retrieve her for the bargain for three months after their survival Under the Mountain. Even though Feyre wished he forgot about her and the bargain, he still ended up making a grand entrance.
He decided to show up on her wedding day, and right on time too, I might add (even though Feyre didn’t appreciate it at the time). That’s when he finally came to claim his bargain and whisk her away to his court.
I seriously love this court, and not just the Night Court in general, but Rhysand and his inner circle. They are all very dangerous, intriguing, and unique parts of his court.

We have Mor, who is Rhysand’s cousin. She is an independent woman (lets be real; all of Sarah J. Maas’s female leads are independent) who is so full of life and will take any opportunity to go out and have fun. She was a dreamer born in the Court of Nightmares. Despite her horrible past with her family, she is still able to move forward and appreciate the new family she has now. She loves them deeply and is quick to welcome Feyre into this family as well.

Then there is Azriel, Rhysand’s spymaster, warrior, and shadowsinger of the Night Court. Most of the time it was evident that he had shadows surrounding him, perhaps talking to him. He also may or may not have feelings for Mor, but it’s not clear because he doesn’t easily allow his emotions to be shown.

Cassian, the General Commander of the Night Court’s armies, is altogether a complete pain and flirt. He is a bastard-born Illyrian warrior, who after all this time with his high rank in Rhysand’s inner circle, still doesn’t believe he is good enough.

And of course, there is Amern. She is quite a powerful creature who got turned into a faerie a long time ago. She entered the fae and mortal lands from another world and is Rhysand’s second in command. This just proves that Rhysand doesn’t care or believe in traditional gender roles, which I really appreciate.

I enjoyed this book so much, but one of the things that constantly persuaded me to not put the book down was the romance, friendship, and just overall wonderful relationship between Feyre and Rhysand. Anytime they interacted, which was most of the book, I had all the feels. From their amusing banter, to their slow burning steamy romance. It was all just so beautiful and emotional.

I seriously can’t wait until the next book to see how the story continues. Sarah J. Maas truly outdid herself with this sequel.

Leave a Reply

